• Home
  • Our Community
  • School Council

School Council

All school councils in Victoria operate under the Education and Training Reform Act 2006. Each school council is established by an Order of the Minister for Education, which specifies: membership, size and configuration, objectives and powers, functions and accountabilities and role of the executive officer who is the principal. The school council has particular functions in setting and monitoring the school’s direction.

School councils have three main responsibilities:

Finance: overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation

Strategic planning: participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan

Policy development and review: developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect a school’s values and support the school’s broad direction outlined in its strategic plan.

Other key functions of school councils include

  • raising funds for school related purposes
  • maintaining school grounds and facilities
  • entering into contracts
  • reporting annually to the school community and the Department
  • creating interest in the school in the wider community
  • representing and taking the views of the community into account
  • regulating and facilitating after-hours use of school premises and grounds
  • operating a children’s service at the school

2022 School Council Members

  • President

    Kim Ryan

  • Vice-President

    Mel Maher

  • Treasurer

    Andrea Beckel

  • Secretary

    Kate Warburton

School Council Members

Abby Madden
Kate Warburton
Patrick O’Sullivan
Tracy Bridge
Shari Henderson
Lionel Chatfield
Belinda Sheen
Melissa Maher
Peter Steinmann
Kim Ryan
John Holland
Alannah Surrey
Peter Steinman

16 Ibbs Lane, Grasmere, Victoria, 3281
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(03) 5565 4253

Grasmere Primary School ©2022

Office Hours
Mon - Fri | 8.30 - 4.30pm